Book Awards Footer


Book Awards Sidebar

FAPA President's Book Awards

Each year the Florida Authors and Publishers Association (FAPA) sponsors the FAPA President’s Book Awards, which recognizes book publishing excellence and creativity in design, content, and production for North American authors and publishers. Submissions for the 2016 Book Awards have closed. Details for submitting to the 2017 President’s Book Awards will be announced soon.

Finalists for this year’s awards were chosen by publishing professionals and librarians from both within and outside of Florida, and were announced at the President’s Book Awards Banquet on August 6, 2016, in Orlando, Florida, at the FAPA annual conference at the Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Visit in the Walt Disney World® Resort. 


Congratulations to the 2016 FAPA President's Book Awards Winners! Winners were announced Saturday evening, at the HILTON ORLANDO LAKE BUENA VISTA in the Walt Disney World® Resort, Lake Buena Vista,  Florida.


"The FAPA award gives a work credibility. It is hard to understand a book from reading the back cover. Awards and reviews give a book a benchmark of excellence.” —James Hockenberry, FAPA 2015 Adult Fiction: Historical Winner for Over There


"... a juried book award lends a certain prestige and legitimacy to a title. Given a choice between a best-seller campaign and a book award, I'd choose the award any day!" —Tara Alemany, FAPA 2015 How to / Self-Help Winner for The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books


"Each and every award helps us to market our books. With this wonderful award, we gained exposure on the FAPA website, which will help to generate more sales." —Lee Ann Mancini, 2015 Children's Picture Book Winner for Fast Freddy


"Having 'Award Winning Author' after my name has helped with getting increased engagement in public speaking, and the public speaking in return helps me sell more books." —Jose Colon, 2015 Education Winner for Sometimes I Dream and The Magic Ice Cream Palace

 Book Award Finalists button



FAPA President's Book Awards winners receive:

  • A gold, silver, or bronze medal
  • An e-certificate suitable for printing and framing
  • Labels to place on book covers
  • Exposure to peers
  • Free media publicity
  • Link to their website/book blog
  • Listing of their name and winning title(s) on the FAPA website for one year.  

Interested authors and publishers may submit one or more 2015 and 2016 English language titles (up until entry deadline) in as many of the following categories as desired:




 Green Stripe


  1. Adult Fiction – General
  2. Adult Fiction – Genre: Chic Lit
  3. Adult Fiction – Genre: Contemporary / Literary
  4. Adult Fiction – Genre: Historical
  5. Adult Fiction – Genre: Horror
  6. Adult Fiction – Genre: Mystery
  7. Adult Fiction – Genre: Romance
  8. Adult Fiction – Genre: Sci-Fi and Fantasy
  9. Adult Fiction – Genre: Suspense/Thriller
  10. Adult Fiction – Genre: Western 
  11. Autobiography/Memoir
  12. Biography
  13. Business Book
  14. Children’s Picture (Read to Me) Book Age 0-3
  15. Children’s Picture (Read to Me) Book Age 4-7
  16. Coffee Table Book
  17. Cookbooks
  18. Cover Design – small format – smaller than 6” x 9”
  19. Cover Design – larger format – larger than 6” x 9”  
  20. Education
  21. eBook: Adult
  22. eBook: Children
  23. Fiction: Christian
  24. Fiction: Juvenile Age 7-12
  25. Fiction: Young Adult
  26. Fiction: Young Adult - Romance / Coming of Age / New Adult
  27. Fiction: Young Adult - Paranormal / Sci-fi / Fantasy
  28. Florida: Children Picture (Read to Me) Book Age 0-3
  29. Florida: Children Picture (Read to Me) Book Age 4-7
  30. Florida: Fiction Book for Adults
  31. Florida: Juvenile Age 8-13 (both fiction and non-fiction)
  32. Florida: Nonfiction Book for Adults
  33. Florida: Young Adult books (both fiction and non-fiction)
  34. Graphic Novel
  35. How-To/Self-Help
  36. Health & Fitness
  37. Home & Garden
  38. Humor
  39. Nonfiction: Adult
  40. Nonfiction: Children’s
  41. Nonfiction: Young Adult
  42. Poetry Book
  43. Political/Current Events
  44. Reference
  45. Religion
  46. Sports & Recreation
  47. Short Fiction – including short stories


Banner with Medals



Red Stripe

  • Author or publisher must reside in North America.
  • Acceptable publishing dates for books submitted for the 2017 President’s Book Awards will be books published in 2016 and 2017. Deadlines for submission for the 2017 awards will be announced in August.
  • Books/eBooks must have an ISBN number, and state the year published within the book. eBooks may have an ASIN in lieu of ISBN
  • FAPA membership is not required for entry, although FAPA members receive a discount.*
  • Previous award winning titles of FAPA President’s Book Awards may not be re-entered
  • FAPA board members are able to enter books in the awards competition.


Join FAPA Here and Renew FAPA Membership Here. If you aren’t sure whether or not your membership is current, email the VP of Member Services (


Orange Stripe

  • All entries in each category will be considered by three judges.
  • Librarians, book industry professionals, and educators from Florida and multiple other states will judge content, theme, layout, and cover design elements.
  • Entries will not be returned. Judges are not paid but are allowed to keep the entries that they evaluate, or they may donate them to their library or other non-profit organizations that promote reading.
  • Do NOT mark your entries. No notes to the judges, nothing scrawled on the cut edge of the paper or inserts placed inside for the judges. Markings or messages will render a book ineligible.



Green Stripe

FAPA will award one Gold Medal, up to two Silver Medals, and one Bronze Medal in each category. Medalists will be announced by email and listed on the FAPA website the first week of July. All medalists will receive at least a bronze medal.

At the FAPA President’s Book Awards Banquet, medalists for each category will be honored.  All category winners will receive a gold or silver or bronze medal, and a digital certificate, along with 10 gold, silver, or bronze “Winner” stickers.

New and previous award winners can order additional decals hereEach winner will receive an e-certificate following the awards banquet.

A FAPA-issued, award-announcement press release will be sent to the author or publisher for release to print and broadcast media and for use on the winner’s website and/or blog and social media.



View the previous years' winners below! Previous award winners can order additional decals here.

2015 Winners and Finalists

2014 Winners and Finalists

2013 Winners and Finalists

2011 Winners and Finalists

2010 Winners and Finalists

2009 Winners and Finalists

2008 Winners and Finalists

2007 Winners and Finalists

2006 Winners and Finalists

2005 Winners and Finalists




Display at BEA

powered by MemberClicks